AAISCR American Association of Indian Scientists in Cancer Research (Founded 1994; http://www.aaiscr.org)

Dr. Aniruddha Ganguly, President, invites you to attend the 27th Annual Meeting (VIRTUAL)

Date: Friday July 31, 2020

Time: 3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT to 5:00pm ET/2:00pm PT Meeting venue: VIRTUAL MEETING VIA WEBINAR

Registration: Registration is free but required to attend the virtual meeting. Register here:

https://bit.ly/AAISCR2020
). Registration will close on Monday, July 20 at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT. Registered individuals will receive a copy of their form after submission. The webinar link for the meeting will be e-mailed to registered individuals after July 20. Please contact Dr. Arti Patel Varanasi at avaranasi@advancingsynergy.com with questions.

Please support AAISCR by becoming a Life Member today (https://www.aaiscr.org/membership application.php)

Please donate to support AAISCR (https://www.aaiscr.org/donation.php)

ANNUAL MEETING PROGRAM: Honoring late Dr. Mansukh Wani, co-discoverer of Taxol and Camptothecin

Moderators: Dr. Arti Patel Varanasi, Vice President, AAISCR; President & CEO, Advancing Synergy LLC, Baltimore, MD and **Dr. Harikrishna Nakshatri,** Board of Directors, AAISCR; Marian J. Morrison Professor of Breast Cancer Research, Indiana University School of Medicine, IN

- 3:00-3:10 PM President's Message: Dr. Aniruddha Ganguly
- **3:10-3:15 PM** Sponsor Acknowledgement: Dr. Rita Ghosh, Vice President, AAISCR; Associate Professor, University of Texas Health, San Antonio, TX
- **3:15-3:25 PM** Presentation by a Sponsor: Dr. Himabindu Gaddipati, CEO & Founder, Lumiseek, San Diego, CA. Introduced by Dr. Rita Ghosh, Vice President, AAISCR; Associate Professor, University of Texas Health- San Antonio, TX
- **3:25-3:35 PM NIH Funding Status & Initiatives: Dr. Julia Arnold,** Program Director, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, MD. Introduced by **Dr. Anjana Saxena**, Board of Directors, AAISCR; Associate Professor, Brooklyn College, City University of New York, NY
- **3:35-4:35 PM** Senior Scientist Awards: Dr. Shyam Sharan, Committee Chair, and Board of Directors, AAISCR; Senior Investigator, Head, Genetics of Cancer Susceptibility Section, Director, Center for Advanced Preclinical Research, NCI/NIH
- 3:35-4:05 PM Keynote Speaker & Lifetime Achievement Awardee: Dr. Vishva Dixit, Vice President, Physiological Chemistry, Genentech, CA. Introduced by Dr. Arul M. Chinnaiyan, S.P. Hicks Endowed Professor of Pathology, Director, Michigan Center for Translational Pathology, University of Michigan, MI
- **4:05-4:20 PM** Lifetime Achievement Awardee: Dr. Shiv Grewal, Chief, Laboratory of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, NIH Distinguished Investigator, Head, Chromosome Biology Section, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, MD. Introduced by Dr. Dipak Sarkar, Distinguished Professor, Rutgers University, NE
- **4:20-4:35 PM** Outstanding Scientist Awardee: Dr. Surinder Batra, Stokes-Shackelford Professor and Chairman, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Nebraska Medical Center, NE. Introduced by Dr. Maneesh Jain, Associate Professor, University of Nebraska Medical Center, NE
- **4:35-4:50 PM Young Investigator Awards: Dr. Debasis Mondal,** Committee Chair and Vice President, AAISCR; Associate Professor of Microbiology & Infectious Disease, Debusk College of Osteopathic Medicine, Lincoln Memorial University, Knoxville, TN and **Dr. Harikrishna Nakshatri,** Committee

Co-Chair and Board of Directors, AAISCR; Marian J. Morrison Professor of Breast Cancer Research, Indiana University School of Medicine, IN

Graduate Student Awardees: Mansi Gulati (Mentor: Dr. Maneesh Jain), University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE. Project: Utility of recombinant MUC4 domains as potential therapeutic agents. Sharavan Ramachandran (Mentor: Dr. Sanjay K. Srivastava), Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Abilene, TX. Project: Pimvanserin induces autophagy mediated apoptosis in pancreatic cancer and suppresses pancreatic tumor growth.

Postdoctoral Fellow Awardees: Dr. Chetan C. Oturkar (Mentor: Dr. Gokul M. Das), Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center, Buffalo, NY. Project: Drug repurposing to treat triple negative breast cancer (TNBC) based on a novel ER beta-p53-p73 signaling axis. Dr. Prabhakar Pitta

Venkata (Mentor: Dr. Gangadhara Sareddy), University of Texas Health, San Antonio, TX. Project: KDM1A inhibition activates estrogen receptor beta pathway to suppress ovarian cancer progression.

Junior Faculty Awardee: Dr. Prasad Dandawate (*Mentor: Dr. Shrikant Anant*), The University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS. Project: *Antipsychotic Drug Promethazine inhibit pancreatic cancer growth by inhibiting prolactin receptor signaling.*

4:50-4:55 PM Young Investigator Forum: Dr. Debasis Mondal, Vice President, AAISCR; Associate Professor of Microbiology & Infectious Disease, Debusk College of Osteopathic Medicine, Lincoln Memorial University, Knoxville, TN

4:55-5:00 PM Q & A - Meeting Adjournment